Improving your public and conversational speaking

So here’s some practical advice to not just men looking to become masculine men, but to all Christians. Especially those who are introverts.

If you’re an introvert like me then you usually don’t talk much during the day even if you’re out with friends or in mixed company.

However, we know that conversation, like public speaking, is a learned skill. You need to practice at it to get good.

Therefore, this is my challenge to you in two areas:

  1. When doing your [daily] Bible reading read all of it out loud.
  2. When doing your [daily] prayer do it all out loud.

Though, it is not just enough to read your Bible aloud and pray aloud. I want you to focus on a couple things when doing this namely,

  • Stand up straight or sit up straight with chest out and shoulders back.
  • Take a deep breath before you speak each sentence or set of words.
  • Speak in a measured tone — not too fast, not too slow.
  • Speak it with authority.

Remember, the goal of a godly masculine man is ultimately going to be developing into one who is able to share the gospel and encourage those around him. So what better way to  learn how to speak and communicate effectively than with the core fundamantals that help with your Christian walk.

Likewise, remember that reading is different from speaking and hearing the Word. This is the power of the rhema Word of God. There is power in authority of the Word of God and hearing it, and it will improve your relationship more with God than praying and reading the Scripture silently.

Over the past few months I’ve taken to reading Scripture aloud as well as praying aloud and it’s done marvelous things for my communication ability. I pray the same for you.

This entry was posted in Learning godly behavior and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Improving your public and conversational speaking

  1. Chad says:

    I could never imagine not praying aloud. I say silent prayers at times, but the bulk of my prayer life is aloud. I haven’t thought of reading the BIble aloud though; I’ll have to do that from now on.

  2. Yeah, Scripture out loud is awesome.

    I would also say think your thoughts out loud too, but that can get weird at times, haha.

  3. Looking Glass says:

    Reading the Bible Aloud will also improve your Sight-Reading ability. Quite a lot of people got taught to read English very badly, so it helps a lot. I’ve, mostly, retaught myself to read, though that still takes a little work. (I’m insanely fast, but I’ve got a monster vocabulary completely memorized by Sight; only works when you’ve got a good memory, thus the problem & the atrocious consequences for those taught Whole Reading)

    It’ll also help your Cognitive Recognition & Recall of passages, general intelligence and concentration. Reading Aloud is a bit like a Deadlift or Squat (in Fitness). It incorporates the entire Mind & much of the body into the process of the Word. And that’s before the spiritual benefits kick in. God’s Word has power and it never comes back void. Important things to remember.

    I also find it interesting I started doing this as well, about 4 months ago. I really can’t “read” the Bible normally anymore. It Lives when you say it. Which is the transformative power of the Word.

  4. Pingback: ‘Deep Strength’ on Improving . . . « Cedars Eleven

  5. femininebutnotfeminist says:

    Thanks DS 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lightning Round – 22/01/14 | Free Northerner

  7. Pingback: Improving your public and conversational speaking 2 | Reflections on Christianity and the manosphere

  8. Padre99 says:

    May sound “odd”, speak to the Most High aloud, in private, learn enough basic Latin to speak aloud of God in public, with the idea being one will be asked what one has said

    Beati qui in via Domini ambulant

    In a cynical, hardened world, such an approach will prick the minds of both the proud and humble.

  9. Pingback: Be decisive | Reflections on Christianity and the manosphere

  10. Pingback: Ashamed | Reflections on Christianity and the manosphere

  11. Pingback: The sexual marketplace and marriage marketplace | Reflections on Christianity and the manosphere

  12. Pingback: Identity Part 3 — internal and external | Reflections on Christianity and the manosphere

  13. CHero says:

    @DeepStrength

    A bulk of my lack of appeal/true masculinity is the way in which I communicate. For the most part, I can get stuff across but a lot of times people have trouble understanding me. I like to think before I speak but I prefer to say very little unless it’s absolutely necessary. I’m 30 going on 31 and I still get flustered when something’s directly asked/expected of me or when I’m put on the spot for anything. I realize I don’t speak with authority and should probably try some of the exercises you suggested.

Leave a Reply

