Jenny Erikson did not test the spirits

I was going to write this a while ago, but I kept forgetting. I haven’t seen any of the other Christian manosphere bloggers cover this.

If you remember back to when Jenny Erikson posted information about how God told her to divorice:

Details aren’t needed. Leif is the father of my amazing children, and I want nothing more than to be his friend again someday, regardless of what happens in our marriage. But things have been very broken between us for a very long time, and it took every ounce of courage I had to take the step that went against everything my religious culture told me but somehow I knew God was telling me was right.

To be told that this beautiful, wonderful thing I have learned exists in my soul, this thing that gives me the strength to flip my life over when nothing else has worked, this thing that has made me braver than I thought possible, and made me rely on God more than I ever have in my entire life … to be told that this is a perversion of His plan for me? Well, it would suck, but things have been so full of suckage the past few years that all I can really do is roll my eyes.

Apparently, she didn’t read her Bible enough to hit the passage in 1 John 4 (NASB):

1 Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world. 2 By this you know the Spirit of God: every spirit that confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God; 3 and every spirit that does not confess Jesus is not from God; this is the spirit of the antichrist, of which you have heard that it is coming, and now it is already in the world. 4 You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world. 5 They are from the world; therefore they speak as from the world, and the world listens to them. 6 We are from God; he who knows God listens to us; he who is not from God does not listen to us. By this we know the spirit of truth and the spirit of error.

SSM already had a post on why God hates divorce and why God never contradicts anything He says in His Scriptures, so I need go no further than that.

Suffice to say, Jenny was convinced by the spirit of the antichrist to divorce her husband. She didn’t do what the Scriptures said to test the spirits, otherwise she would’ve confirmed that it wasn’t God but an evil spirit.

Any time time that you’re being told to say or do anything or get a feeling or sign that you think may be from God you should be testing the spirits in order to see if they are from God.

This entry was posted in Godly mindset & lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jenny Erikson did not test the spirits

  1. Jenny doesn’t worship God. She worships her ‘gina tingles.

  2. Since it’s all coming from her rationalisation, it wouldn’t be hard for her to say to herself “I knew God was telling me was right, this god that was made flesh in this wolrd through Jesus Christ” Spirit testing is much more regarding false prophets or deceitful angelic entities. Regardles, it’S still crap to say God told me to divorce when everything in scriptures tells otherwise.

  3. Bee says:

    Jeremiah tested the spirits: Jeremiah 32: 6-8.

  4. Pingback: Warning signs | Christianity and masculinity

  5. Pingback: Politics | Christianity and masculinity

Leave a Reply

