Cold shower meditation

Lots of people in the manosphere have already talked about the benefits of cold showers. And there’s lots of scientific reasons on why you should anyway, some of which are noted here. I’ve been a bit proponent of cold showers to my friends in real life, but I just recently started doing this to some good effects.

Essentially, the cold shower is cathartic much like working out is cathartic. It’s temporary suffering that pays dividends in self control, willpower, ability to handle discomfort, and staying calm under adverse situations. This helps not only with women but professional situations as well. If we were to use the old analogy that men are women’s rock or tree in the storm, then the rock or tree should already know that it has the ability to withstand the storm.

Anyway, I threw in the little twist of some meditation (and/or prayer if you prefer) because it is an effective way to use the time and helps you regulate yourself under stress much better than just standing there in the cold. Bonus points for sitting down and plugging the drain so the cold water builds up around you.

2 Corinthians 11:21 To my shame I must say that we have been weak by comparison. But in whatever respect anyone else is bold—I speak in foolishness—I am just as bold myself. 22 Are they Hebrews? So am I. Are they Israelites? So am I. Are they [g]descendants of Abraham? So am I.

23 Are they servants of Christ?—I speak as if insane—I more so; in [h]far more labors, in [i]far more imprisonments, [j]beaten times without number, often in danger of death. 24 Five times I received from the Jews thirty-nine lashes. 25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, a night and a day I have spent in the deep. 26 I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness, dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren; 27 I have been in labor and hardship, [k]through many sleepless nights, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and [l]exposure.

28 Apart from such [m]external things, there is the daily pressure on me of concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak without my being weak? Who is [n]led into sin [o]without my intense concern? 30 If I have to boast, I will boast of what pertains to my weakness. 31 The God and Father of the Lord Jesus, He who is blessed forever, knows that I am not lying.

We, in first world countries, have the benefit of not being under persecutions. However, it has made us all soft to some extent. Although it’s nowhere even close to similar to actually undergoing persecution for Christ, it does help build strength of character and attributes through a similar mechanism. That’s why Paul mentions cold and exposure.

Consider it a tempering of the body and mind in the absence of persecution so that when true persecution or difficult circumstances arise you can face them head on in a manner worthy of Christ.

This entry was posted in Godly mindset & lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cold shower meditation

  1. Pingback: Cold shower meditation – Manosphere.com

  2. Coastal says:

    I was a big proponent of cold showers for a while, then I eventually stopped after I started lifting. I found that the two more or less gave the same effect; having to ‘nut up’ and get under the bar to do heavy squats or going for a huge deadlift forced to push myself mentally in the same way that standing under the cold water did. After actually going through with either one of those, I always feel pretty good for having done it.

    Still, maybe I’ll go back to cold showers sometime soon. Part of me misses it in a way, and I like the idea of attaching scripture to it.

  3. @ Coastal

    Yeah. The way I see it… what better way to learn how to pray under adverse circumstances then to train yourself to do it.

    Usually the first thing we do when adverse circumstances come is we complain or turn away from God or make excuse for ourselves.

    Training yourself to do the opposite and seek God is a good thing.

  4. Zhuo says:

    I’ve been on and off with cold showers. They also help with depression and stress-handling actually. Releases some neurotransmitter. Can’t remember if it was endorphin or serotonin. But yeah, it’s also a good way to train willpower. By the way, do you go on http://www.artofmanliness.com?

  5. @ Zhuo

    I do occasionally. They have some good stuff there.

  6. donalgraeme says:

    Fasting, cold showers and other forms of self-deprivation are important in building up discipline and learning to master and control one’s body.

    It is kind of fascinating you wrote this, as I have a post or two on suffering in the works. Might get one up tomorrow.

  7. @ donalgraeme

    Looking forward to it!

  8. Pingback: Masculine Monday- #6 | Donal Graeme

  9. Pingback: Do the stakes matter when making ethical decisions? | Morally Contextualized Romance

Leave a Reply

