Wife wears what husband wants

Since Dalrock ended up getting to the crazy mother who believes her sons are unsafe because they’re men first, I’ll go a different direction.

I’ve written before about what women can do to be more attractive to men. Indeed, it seems that women don’t really understand why that much.

This article pretty much encapsulates how a husband wants his wife to look much of the time.

I Let My Husband Pick My Outfits For a Week

If you ask your husband to look in the closet and pick your outfit, what do you think he will choose? A long red dress? A pair of jeans, sneakers, and a T-shirt? Or maybe a bikini?

Bright Side invites you to look at the results of an interesting experiment where Colin had to create looks for his wife, Caitlyn, for a whole week.

Like many women, I have a large wardrobe stuffed with things, and some of them I’ve never even worn. Nevertheless, quite often I thought I had nothing to wear. Then I decided to experiment and asked my husband to pick my outfits for a week.

His choices really surprised me.

Copy pasting pictures is really annoying, check it out if you want to see the outfits. However, I’ll summarize:

  • 6/7 days were dresses and skirts
  • 6/7 days were form fitting dresses and skirts that emphasized her hips and waist
  • The one exception was a comfortable jean jumpsuit
  • The dresses/skirts were modest for out in public, much more revealing when it was just him and her.
  • The days out in public were bright, feminine, and stylish, and the ones in private were more sexy.
  • He mainly pulled out old(er) outfits in her closet that she hadn’t worn in some time but the ones he thought would look good on her (which they do).

The same is true the opposite way. Wives usually like to dress up their husbands to wear more form fitting and stylish clothes to look more attractive.

Anyway, the point being is that if a woman wants to attract a man she must cater to what men think is attractive. Surprise. Wear more waist and hip form-fitting, bright, feminine and stylish dresses and skirts.

This entry was posted in Godly mindset & lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wife wears what husband wants

  1. OKRickety says:

    “… if a woman wants to attract a man she must cater to what men think is attractive.”

    Instead, women often cater to what other women find attractive. The styles of clothing and hair that are fashionable. The latest style is unlikely to attract a man (unless she wants to attract a gay man).

    Digression: This has me wondering if all women’s behavior is primarily concerned with the approval of other women.

  2. SnapperTrx says:

    “This has me wondering if all women’s behavior is primarily concerned with the approval of other women.”

    Of course it is! What woman wants to be excised from the herd? Why do you think, when a queen bee woman (tv celebrity, musician, etc.) wears ‘x’ then ‘x’ suddenly becomes all the rage! Approval! Everyone else is doing it, I had better get with the program so I don’t seem odd! Within the circle of lady friends women want to either be accepted or dominate. The dominant ones usually afford the high end trends while the lowers follow typical trends while the dominant one(s) look down on them (passive aggression). Think about high school cliques. Women don’t grow much, mentally, beyond that. There’s always the pretty one, the not so pretty one that hangs around the pretty one a lot (BFFs), the smart one, the average one and, sometimes, the sympathy girl that no one really likes all that much (except maybe the average girl) but they keep her around to virtue signal that they are good people. Everyone trying to stay in approval of one another to some degree, with just enough back-stabbiness that any of them could be replaced at a moments notice.

  3. feeriker says:

    I Let My Husband Pick My Outfits For a Week

    Birthday suit for wear around the house.

  4. an observer says:

    The underlying assumption is incorrect. She writes of ‘letting’ him choose clothes for her. If that’s her husband, he owns her already, including what she wears.

  5. @ an observer

    You are correct. I was wondering if someone else would pick up on that.

    “Letting” a husband lead means that a wife still thinks she is in control. It should be “following” a husband’s lead.

  6. That was a sweet article, I loved reading her thoughts about what her husband had picked for each day.
    I too feel a confidence boost when I wear an outfit I know my husband likes.
    Although I do wonder what is the point in picking sexier outfits when they are just at home together if she is then going to post the pictures on the internet?

  7. Hose_B says:

    Instead, women often cater to what other women find attractive.

    I mentioned this in front of my wife and MIL once, their synonymous reply wasn’t denial. It was because their men (meaning FIL and I) never noticed:appreciated anyway.
    Stunned silence when I asked why we should notice/appreciate something they were doing for someone else………..I don’t think they understood.

  8. feeriker says:

    Although I do wonder what is the point in picking sexier outfits when they are just at home together if she is then going to post the pictures on the internet?

    Well, maybe it’s the removal of them … slowly, piece by piece … that he finds most enjoyable. 😉

  9. Swanny River says:

    DS or HoseB, can you share more about the lack of response to Hose? I think it is interesting that they immediately turn the question to focus on what they are not getting (recognition). I see that response as probably just how women are made by God, but then it discourages, because if that is normal, then I don’t see an equal amount of desire in me to manage or always deal with their nature, which just seems selfish and lazy to me. I think the gift of being a husband must include a large dose of either ignorance or irrational optimism. In other words, melancholic personality types with knowledge of women’s nature might be eunuchs, in a way, because they won’t have the will to do the constant pruning and husbanding women require. Always being a servant leader just seems too much to me, and a woman wired to not dress for others without getting recognition, seems like a woman, typical as she is, too much work because just living with her patiently would be tiresome, and patience would be part of the service.

  10. @ Swanny River

    I don’t think it has much to do with how God created women.

    In general, I think that most people default to group/herd think if they don’t closely examine why they are acting in particular ways. Women tend to be more susceptible to this, but men are also susceptible in various ways.

    If we are talking about specifically sin natures where wives’ sin nature is to rebel or seek approval outside the husband then sure.

    It’s one thing for women/wives to be ignorant, but it is another thing to be made aware and stay in rebellion.

    It seems to be in HoseB’s example that the women just didn’t understand the way it was explained. Not that they were ignoring him in particular.

Leave a Reply

